BREAKING NEWS

IN FOCUS

Florida prairie clover

Four Endangered South Florida Plants Protected Against Climate Change

Endangered Species Protections Will Help Unique Plants Survive Sea-level Rise

ST. PETERSBURG, Fla.— The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service today protected four plant species found only in South Florida under the Endangered Species Act.

The Florida pineland crabgrass, pinelands sandmat and Everglades bully are now protected as threatened species under the Act. The Florida prairie clover is protected as endangered.

The plants are part of the irreplaceable and quickly disappearing landscape of South Florida, threatened by sea-level rise, urban sprawl and loss of natural fires. They join a growing number of endangered species that occur in pine rocklands. Despite being among the Earth’s rarest habitats, Florida’s pine rocklands are imminently threatened by the planned development of a shopping mall and theme park in south Miami.

Read more.

Contact: Jaclyn Lopez

LATEST 10 PRESS RELEASES

October 17, 2017 – Oakland City Council Passes Resolution Opposing Offshore Fracking, Drilling

October 17, 2017 – Colorado Gov. Hickenlooper's Climate Plan Ignores Arch Coal's Mine Pollution

October 16, 2017 – Lawsuit Launched to Protect Endangered Rusty Patched Bumblebee

October 13, 2017 – Legal Protest Targets Massive Montana Fracking Plan That Threatens Tongue River

October 13, 2017 – ONSHORE Act Is a Public Lands Giveaway to Dirty Industry

October 12, 2017 – Legal Protest Targets New Fracking in Ohio's Wayne National Forest

October 12, 2017 – Lawsuit Launched Against Trump Administration for Denying Pacific Walruses Endangered Species Act Protection

October 12, 2017 – Lawsuit Launched to Fight EPA's Delay of Power Plant Heavy Metal Pollution Limits

October 12, 2017 – Scientists to Journal: Retract Pesticide Review After Revelations of Monsanto Funding, Influence

October 12, 2017 – Analysis: Trump Administration Drops Ball on Protecting Imperiled Animals

 

+ PRESS RELEASE ARCHIVES

THE CENTER IN THE NEWS

PERSPECTIVES AND OP-EDS

THE CENTER ON MEDIUM

MEDIA-READY SPECIES PHOTOS

MAPS

Media Contacts:
Mike Stark, Communications Director
mstark@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 623-5252, ext. 315

Jessica Herrera, Media Specialist – Population and Sustainability
jherrera@biologicaldiversity.org, (520) 345-5726

Steve Jones, Media Specialist – Oceans
sjones@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 305-3866

Jim Cronin, Media Specialist – Endangered Species
jcronin@biologicaldiversity.org, (213)785-5400 ext. 109

Rebecca Fuoco, Media Specialist – Climate Law Institute
rfuoco@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 283.5474 ext. 411

Mary K. Reinhart, Media Specialist – Public Lands
mkreinhart@biologicaldiversity.org, (602) 320-7309

Andy Parker, Media Specialist – Environmental Health
aparker@biologicaldiversity.org, (503) 310-5569

Patrick Sullivan, Media Specialist – Climate Change, Fracking
psullivan@biologicaldiversity.org, (415) 632-5316

Russ McSpadden, Communications Associate – Media Photos
rmcspadden@biologicaldiversity.org

Banner photo Center for Biological Diversity; Florida prairie clover courtesy NPS